Create

There are so many people, especially women it seems, that don’t have any idea what wonderful qualities they have. I have found that low self esteem and lack of belief in ones own ability is one of the greatest hurdles for women to get over. Everyone has talents…everyone. It took me a long time to believe that. I often have felt like it was “everyone but me” a sentiment that many women seem to share. There is not a human being on this earth who does not have talents.  Everyone is capable of greatness, everyone has the potential to change the world.

I am saddened when I see friends and family who have amazing talents not realize how much they change and enhance the lives of others. My mom is a good example of this. She has no idea how incredible she is. I could spend hours telling you of the talents, qualities and strengths that she has, but if you ask her she seems to struggle to see them.  She has no idea how much she touches the lives of those around her, and yet she improves the life of everyone she meets. I know many friends that have the same difficulty in realizing their strengths, what a shame it is.

Everyone has some quality that can enhance the lives of others, that can be used to serve another and make the world a better place. Each of us has a gift to give. Whether it is the gift of kindness, the talent of cooking well, the ability to draw or paint or sing, the gift of being a good listener or a great friend. There is a way that we can help others. It is up to us to find what talents we have to share and rather than bury them we should develop them and take pride in them and use them to help others.

If you are a good singer…offer to sing in the choir, if you draw well brighten someones day with a picture you drew yourself, If you cook well, teach some one else how to cook or cook a sick friend a meal. If you are a good organizer then help others develop that skill by donating your time. If you are good at sports there are youth and children programs begging for people to help out….if you don’t have time for that because you have children at home….I bet they would love to play a game of one on one with you or if you are driving them to practise and staying to watch the games anyway why not help coach.

It doesn’t matter who you are– there are talents that you have, you may not even know what your talents are because you have never tried. I have always wanted to be a good artist, to beable to draw…I assumed because I was not good as  a child at drawing that I never would be. Lately I have come to realize that while I will not make money off my art work that it is a talent that I am developing through practise when I can’t sleep or am doodling while on the phone. I find it relaxing and though the pictures are not for anyone else I have gained confidence for myself by drawing when I have a minute or two.

Everyone has the capacity to create. To contribute. To make the world a more beautiful place in some way. My grandmother was a wonderful gardener. I loved going to her home and seeing her gorgeous flower gardens, she made my world more beautiful through her gardens and while the flowers and Grandma are both gone, the memory and beauty of her work lasts in my mind and heart. No matter who you are you can create something beautiful. You make the world a better place just by being in it…so stop focusing on what you can’t do and go Create!!

Nobody made a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little.- Edmond Burke

Everytime you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing.
-Mother Teresa

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

