I Exist, Do You Care…Homelessness in Peel Region

I still have pneumonia and have been on bed rest for almost three weeks now. I had two days where I thought I was on the mend and then ended up flat on my back again today. I called the doctor and will see him tomorrow. I decided I couldn’t let being sick stop me from trying to make a difference… With every cough, sniffle, etc I am reminded how blessed I am to have a home and bed to be resting in, a phone to call the doctor and transportation to get to him.

The NICE Outreach program has had some exciting things happen to help those we care about. First I received a phone call a few days ago from a family that is donating 100 yes one hundred meals for the NICE outreach program for the homeless in Peel for Christmas eve. I was speechless, overwhelmed with gratitude. Since I have been sick, I have had no income for almost a month, I have had some unexpected expenses come up and wasn’t sure I would be able to supply or do anything special for Christmas for those who need something the most. I will forever be grateful to this kind family and their extended family for having such compassion for others.

The next day I received an email from some friends that brought an entire trunk full of donated food, blankets, etc for our program. Again I am deeply touched by the kindness of my friends for supporting my vision to show those who are homeless that we do care, that they are not invisible..that they are loved and thought about. I am thankful to those who are helping love and give something to strangers in need.

I made this video because I could find very few videos on homelessness in Peel Region, and the ones I did find seemed to perpetuate stereotypes and not truly address the fact that compassion and love are needed.

I set up a profile page on https://hopemob.org/s/16x-nice-outreach-program-for-homeless as well and have already received two donations from anonymous strangers. If those people ever finds this blog I want them to know I am grateful, their donation will be used to buy food, personal first aid kits, hand warmers and other Necessary Interventions for Continued Existence for those in need. I am grateful for those who find it in their hearts to show compassion and love to those in need. Thank you.

This entry was posted in Compassion in Health Care and Poverty Solutions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

