How To Support A Child…Thanks Mom and Dad

397720_452377161483590_1799025075_n

Dear Mom and Dad sometimes I forget to take the time to say,

How grateful I am for the big and little things you did along the way,

I may at times have seemed ungrateful for your support,

But you never let me down or ever fell short,

Thank you for game nights when we would have so much fun,

And when I had guitar recitals, you came to every one,

You’d listen to me practise night after night,

Something I begged to play was now a daily fight,

There were school trips and play days that you always came to,

And musicals and school concerts you lovingly sat through,

Fireworks and barbques and camping together,

Singing songs and playing cards during the bad weather,

You made  special birthday cake with coins hidden inside,

And you were there to give me a needed ride,

You drove  an hour just to get my stuffed bunny,

you didn’t make me feel bad if I had to borrow money,

Thank you for every time you picked me up and dried my tears,

And for worrying and loving me through all the years.

The hockey games and ice rinks you built in the backyard,

And teaching me crib so math didn’t seem so hard,

Thank you for believing in me when I couldn’t,

And still being there when many people wouldn’t

For having faith in our Heavenly Father above,

and mostly, Thank you for your unconditional love.

This entry was posted in My poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How To Support A Child…Thanks Mom and Dad

  1. freckgz says:

    WISH I COULD WRITE THIS LETTER TO MY PARENTS BUT I WILL MAKE SURE MY DAUGHTER WILL BE ABLE TO WRITE A LETTER LIKE THIS TO ME.

Leave a Reply

