Merry Little Christmas…

945567_952436901476379_138195391722545737_n.jpg

 I am as excited as a child waiting for Santa to arrive. It doesn’t really feel like Christmas with no snow and not planning a traditional celebration. This is a year of peace and happiness for me and a special Christmas because my daughter and I are going away for a working vacation. It is the first real vacation we have ever be able to take. This has been an incredible year of firsts for us.

My daughter finished her first semester of college. She got her first college A. (and her second). I always knew she could do it…but this is the first time I think she is realizing that she can. It is amazing to watch someone start to see a glimmer of their potential. She will be an incredible Art Therapist. She has conquered the first step of that dream this year.

It makes me excited for the future. I see more blessings in each day of life. Life is good. Christmas is the most wonderful time of the year when life is good.

There have been many years that I didn’t feel the holiday spirit. I was struggling, or life seemed overwhelming at the time. I think of those years a lot, but not of the struggle. I think of the loved ones who showed me kindness, who gave me the miracle I needed to find a smile  during a difficult time.

My best friend/sista was the family we shared Christmas with for many years. The past few years we have been provinces apart. I miss her every day but miss her even more when  this time of year rolls around. Missing her, her , daughter, her sister and other dear friends reminds me of just how blessed I am to have them in my life- even from a far.

I think of my parents who went to incredible lengths and sacrifice to make life good and Christmas magical. When I was a child there was never a time I was in need, No Christmas I was disappointed. As I had a child of my own I realized how difficult a task that is. There were many of my daughters childhood Christmases that were magical because of their sacrifice and help when I struggled to do it all.

At the holidays I feel even more heartbroken that my big brother is not here to share the festivities with us. Our families should be laughing over an epic Crib tournament and exchanging joke gifts of ugly Christmas sweaters. It always gets me thinking about the time we did have together. I am blessed to have him as my brother…no matter how briefly he was here on earth. Mortal life is but a blink of the eye in eternal perspective. My excitement as I think of seeing him again is like a child on Christmas eve. We will have so many stories to share and so much to catch up on. I feel blessed to have that to look forward to.

I have friends and loved ones from all over the world, of all ages and backgrounds. Each one enriches and blesses my life. A reminder of how blessed I have always been and forever will be. I can say that because they have been with me through thick and thin, the worst of my life and are still here at the best of my life. I love this time of year because I feel overwhelming gratitude for every act of kindness, every lesson and blessing, every moment that lead me to this Christmas. To a life that is filled with Peace, Joy and Love no matter where it takes me.

The angel on the top of my Christmas tree reminds me of how many angels I have in my life. They have answered prayers, wiped tears, relieved worries and created smiles. I am blessed with Angels in my life.

May each of you find Peace, Joy and Love in your daily life. It is there. Sometimes you have to search harder to see it because of the worries and trials of life but there are many who love you, that in itself is a reason for peace in your heart and when you have love and peace in your life how can you not feel some joy.

peace_quote.jpg

peace-quotes-bible-9.jpg

tumblr_mjun5wzM1P1rczngbo1_500.png

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merry Little Christmas…

  1. Patti says:

    That was very inspiring Connie. Thanks for writing it.

Leave a Reply

